Green Tomatoes turn Red

     Today I remembered I had stored some green tomatoes in a brown paper bag to ripen. I decided to take a look and guess what I found? Lots of red tomatoes. It worked! The night before our first frost in October Emma and I went outside and picked the green ones in the dark with a flashlight. I explained to hear my mom had told me they would slowly ripen if we stored them in a paper bag. We didn’t want to waste the green ones.

    There just weren’t enough to justify getting out all my canning supplies so I decide to make salsa and freeze it. Much, much easier! And that I did. I ended up with five bags of salsa and one bag of juice. I figured I can use the juice in tomato soup or in my spaghetti. I am already looking forward to planting more tomato plants next year!

Leave a Reply

